Vegan Worcestershire Sauce
Conventional Worcestershire sauce contains anchovies, therefore, vegans cannot eat it.
Annie’s makes a vegan brand, but I was in a hurry this morning and didn’t have time to rush out to the supermarket, so I made my own.
I checked out the ingredients on the old bottle of Lea & Perrin that was sitting in the back of my refrigerator and started experimenting.
It was pretty easy, really. And it tastes very much like the product I used to consume. Better yet, it worked beautifully in my husband’s gumbo, which I veganized for Mardi gras.
¼ cup white wine vinegar
2 tbsp. of dark molasses
1/3 cup water
1/8 tsp. vegan sugar
½ tsp. onion powder
½ tsp. garlic powder
¼ tsp. salt
½ tsp. capers
Put all of the ingredients in a food processor and blend for one minute.
Store in refrigerator in a sealed container.